Concours Clara Haskil

Jury Rules 2015

26th Clara Haskil Competition 21th to 29th August 2015 Vevey-Switzerland Jury regulations for the competition, determining the sequence of the rounds and the voting procedure Jury The jury of the eliminatory round constituted by Elza Kolodin and Marc Pantillon is chaired by Christian Zacharias The jury of the competition is made up of one president : Christian Zacharias and six members Catherine d’Argoubet, Konstanze Eickhorst, Elza Kolodin, Augustin Dumay, Antonio Moral, Marc Pantillon Sequence of the rounds and votes : ELIMINATION ROUNDS Elimination rounds, Audio or video recording The candidate shall put together a programme which includes the following: a) A work by W.A. Mozart lasting a maximum of 10 minutes (sonata movements are accepted), b) A work by Beethoven, Schubert or Schumann, lasting a maximum of 15 minutes (sonata movements and separate pieces from cycles are accepted). VOTE No 1: Aim: to select the candidates admitted to the quarter-finals (maximum 24) Voting procedure: In May 2015, the jury of the eliminatory round listened to the recordings and selected 23 candidates for the quarterfinals (see list annexed). QUARTERFINALS The candidate shall put together a programme according to the following rules: • One of the following options, lasting 15 to 20 minutes: A piece by J.S. Bach, or a J. Haydn sonata, or Three sonatas by D. Scarlatti, at least one of which must be slow. • The candidate’s choice of two Chopin Études from Op. 10. • One or more works, lasting around 15 to 20 minutes in total, by Bartók, Debussy, Poulenc or Ravel. Total maximum duration: 45 minutes. On completion of the quarterfinals, the jury proceeds to VOTE No 2 Aim: to select the 6 candidates admitted to the semi-finals. Voting procedure: Each member of the jury draws up a list of the candidates he/she wishes to see reach the semi-finals. Selection is by relative majority vote, that is, the 6 candidates who obtain the greatest number of votes. Candidates who obtain only one vote are eliminated. SEMI-FINALS The candidate shall put together a programme according to the following rules: a) Compulsory piece composed by Thomas Adès. b) One Mozart sonata for piano and violin from the following: K. 301, K. 304, K. 376, K. 377. The candidates will be accompanied by jury member, the violinist Augustin Dumay. c) One or more pieces for solo piano of around 30 minutes by Beethoven, Brahms, Schubert or Schumann. On completion of the semi-finals, the jury proceeds to VOTE No 3 Aim: to select the 3 candidates admitted to the final round. Voting procedure: Same as for vote No 2. FINAL ROUND WITH ORCHESTRA The candidate shall put together a programme according to the following rules: a) Mozart – one of the following Mozart concertos: K. 175, K. 238, K. 246, K. 271, K. 413, K. 414, K. 415, K. 449, K. 450, K. 451, K. 453, K. 456, K. 459, K. 466, K. 467, K. 482, K. 488, K. 491, K. 503, K. 537, K. 595. b) Robert Schumann: Introduction and Allegro appassionato op. 92, or Concert-Allegro with Introduction in D minor op. 134 The Finale will be conducted by the Chairman of the Jury, Christian Zacharias with Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne. On completion of the final round with orchestra, the jury proceeds to VOTE No 4 Aim: to select the best candidate. Voting procedure: Each member of the jury writes down one name only. A majority of 4 votes is required. If no candidate obtains this number of votes, the jury can proceed to a second vote. If after two rounds of voting, no candidate has obtained a majority of 4 votes, the procedure is over and the jury does not proceed to the following vote; consequently, the prize will not be awarded. If a majority of 4 votes is attained, the jury proceeds to vote No 5. VOTE No 5 Aim: to decide if the Clara Haskil Prize should be awarded to the candidate chosen during vote No 4. Voting procedure: Each member of the jury replies by a YES or a NO. A majority of 5 votes is required. If this majority is not attained, the prize is not awarded. CLARA HASKIL PRIZE The victor will receive CHF 25’000 The other finalists will receive for taking part in the final CHF 4’000 MODERN TIMES MUSIC PRIZE This special Prize awards the best interpretation of Thomas Adès’s piece, which has been composed for this edition of the competition and is awarded by the jury. CHF 3’000 AUDIENCE PRIZE During the final on August 29th 2015, each member of the audience will receive a voting slip on which he/she writes a single name. The Audience Prize is awarded to the candidate who receives the greatest number of votes. In the case of a tie, this prize can be shared. The counting of votes is carried out by the competition organizers and the jury is only informed of the result after having completed all of the procedures described above, that is, up to votes No 4 or No 5, as the case may be. CHF 3’000 LA JEUNE CRITIQUE PRIZE / COUP DE COEUR The « Jeune Critique» in consultation with the jury for the competition awards this prize to his favorite candidate. CHF 3’000 CHILDREN CORNER’S PRIZE This prize is awarded by the children of the Children’s Corner project who attended the general rehearsal and the final round on August 29th 2015. CHF 2’000 JURY REGULATIONS 1. Members of the jury are requested to have no contact with the candidates still in the competition. 2. Members of the jury must inform the president of the jury of all candidates who are or who have been their pupils; members of the jury pledge themselves to judge the candidates objectively. 3. The president of the jury can, with the agreement of the other members, interrupt the candidates during their performance. 4. The voting procedure commences on the decision of the president of the jury with or without prior discussion. 5. All voting is by secret ballot. 6. Votes No 2 and No 3 are by relative majority. Relative majority corresponds to the greatest number of votes obtained by the candidates; candidates who only obtain one vote are eliminated. 7. In the case of a tie, the president of the jury has the casting vote (except for votes No 4 and No 5). 8. The results of the votes are secret. 9. The Clara Haskil Prize cannot be shared. 10. The president and the director of the competition are in principle present during the deliberations of the jury. 11. In the case of discussion concerning the application of the present regulations, the opinion of the president or the director of the competition prevails. 12. Members of the jury may be solicited for an interview with candidates who have not been admitted to the subsequent round. 13. The Clara Haskil Prize awards an amount of CHF 25’000, the other finalists each receive the sum of CHF 4’000 ; the Audience Prize is of CHF 3’000 ; the La Jeune Critique Prize is of CHF 3’000 ; the Children’s Corner is of CHF 2’000 ; the Contemporary Music Prize is of CHF 3’000. Clara Haskil Competition Patrick Peikert, Director Vevey, July 2015 This document will be available to the public during the competition and on the website

Candidats quarts_2015